Friday 21st April - Sunday 16th July 2023

13 weeks

Part-time residential at the college (3 days, 2 nights each week Friday - Sunday)

Apply

Fees

Certificates at Level 3 cost from £0, £75 or £150 depending on your income

Level

Level 3

The purpose of this qualification is to allow you to demonstrate understanding of, and competency in, digital literacy skills. It will help you to progress to a work role where digital literacy skills are required.

  • Working in the digital support sector.
  • Network infrastructure and cloud services.
  • Data management.
  • Digital security.
  • Supporting digital services.
  • Supporting digital transformation.

This course is not for absolute beginners in IT. Basic familiarity is required with general digital devices and using software, although training will be provided in IT skills used at work, such as word processing, spreadsheets, and presentation, web searching, social media, online interaction and online safety. 

The course will cover:

Unit 01 Working in the digital support sector. Unit 02 Network infrastructure and cloud services.

Unit 03 Data management.

Unit 04 Digital security.

Unit 05 Supporting digital services.

Unit 06 Supporting digital transformation.

You must successfully demonstrate your achievements by portfolio assignments of all learning outcomes of the units as detailed in this qualification specification.

Unit 1:

Understand organisational policies, standards and legislation applicable to the digital support sector, be able to use transferable skills appropriate to the digital support sector, be able to use tools to solve problems appropriate to the digital support sector, understand career progression opportunities within the digital support sector.

Unit 2:

Be able to manage a range of network devices, understand the role of servers and shared resources within a network architecture, be able to design a network infrastructure, understand the applications of cloud services and virtualisation.

Unit 3:

Understand the concepts and fundamentals of data, understand the purpose and process of backing up data, understand how organisations use information systems, be able to use data and information systems effectively, appropriately and securely, understand the importance of preparing data for data analysis, be able to use visualisation to present information about data.

Unit 4:

Understand the importance of information security management in protecting organisational data, understand a range of mitigation controls used to support information security, be able to use security Information and event management (SIEM) software, understand how to establish if a vulnerability has been exploited.

Unit 5:

Be able to manage a ticket when dealing with end users’ digital problems, understand digital problems and helpdesk requests in the digital support sector, be able to use a system log (syslog), be able to install, configure and deploy an operating system, be able to install, configure and deploy software applications.

Unit 6:

Apply the fundamentals of digital transformation to develop a digital strategy, understand digital project management methodologies and working practices, be able to use a range of digital applications, act as a digital champion by providing end user support.

Dates:

Friday 21st April - Sunday 23rd April

Friday 28th April - Sunday 30th April

Friday 5th May - Sunday 7th May

Friday 12th May - Sunday 14th May

Friday 19th May - Sunday 21st May

Friday 26th May - Sunday 28th May

Friday 2nd June - Sunday 4th June

Friday 9th June - Sunday 11th June

Friday 16th June - Sunday 18th June

Friday 23rd June - Sunday 25th June

Friday 30th June - Sunday 2nd July

Friday 7th July - Sunday 9th July

Friday 14th July - Sunday 16th July

Entry Requirements

if you do not already possess L2 qualifications you will be given an appropriate assessment prior to joining.

Accreditation

This course is accredited by NCFE

Progression

Once you have achieved this qualification you could progress to employment as a digital support technician or digital applications technician