22nd February - 17th March 2023

Apply

Residential at the college (3 days, 2 nights each week) x 4 weeks

Fees

This course is free

Level 

Level 1 

The purpose of this qualification is to allow students to demonstrate understanding of, and competency in, the essential digital skills they need for life. It will enable students to engage with digital services and products in everyday life

This qualification aims to:

  • Focus on the study of digital skills
  • Offer breadth and depth of study, incorporating a key core of knowledge and skills
  • Provide opportunities to acquire a number of essential digital skills

You will cover the following digital skills:

  • Being safe and responsible online and on digital devices
  • Using digital devices and handling information
  • Creating and editing
  • Digital communication
  • Transacting digitally

The objective of this qualification is to:

• Build essential digital skills for everyday life 

Dates

Split into 4 residential stays (3 Days - 2 Night) 

Monday 31st October - Wednesday 2nd November

Monday 7th November - Wednesday 9th November

Monday 14th November - Wednesday 16th November

Monday 21st November - Wednesday 23rd November

or

Wednesday 22nd February - Friday 24th February

Wednesday 1st March - Friday 3rd March 

Wednesday 8th March - Friday 10th March

Wednesday 15th March - Friday 17th March

Entry Requirements 

There are no formal entry requirements for this course. All we ask is for you to have the willingness of learning and being supportive of others.

It would be beneficial if you have an understanding of the following foundation skills which underpin all essential digital skills:

  • How to turn on a device
  • Use the available controls on my device
  • Make use of accessibility tools on my device to make it easier to use
  • Interact with the home screen on my device
  • Understand that the internet allows me to access information and content and that I can connect to it through Wi-FI
  • Connect my device to a safe and secure Wi-Fi network